Elder Roberts – Week 5 – August 14, 2014

Hi All,

Wow okay so I have a lot to write for this week, but there’s so much to write that I am going to pick a few of the most prominent things that happened, and talk about them in detail. Because general emails that over exaggerate how great everything is are never that fun. And understand that I am not sugar coating these emails. I’m having the time of my life, and hopefully my emails portray that.
Okay, this past Sunday was the best sunday I have ever had in my life! No exaggeration. My Sundays before my mission were not nearly as spiritual as they are here, and it was the best Sunday yet. Here’s why. Every sunday I have to teach a lesson to my district. I was feeling like I wasn’t putting much thought into them, so I just started pondering about how I could make this lesson useful to them, starting on Tuesday. My assigned topic was the Gospel of Jesus Christ, which is the best topic because its so simple and beautiful. But we had gotten so many lessons on it because of its importance, I wanted to strike their hearts with the spirit (and my own) from a different angle. You know that one scripture that talks about how the Holy Ghost brings things to your remembrance? Well that’s what happened. I remember someone mentioned a way that you could do a demonstration of the Atonement, but I couldn’t remember any of the details, so I did it my own way. Here’s what I did and the roles we played.
-Teacher (me): represented God and his justice
-All the others except for 2 of them: represented the children of God on the earth
-One of the Elders: represented Jesus Christ
-A different Elder: represented satan and temptation
-Rule: Every time someone blinks its a sin, and “Jesus” would have to do 5 pushups

I explained all these roles and assigned Elder R. to be satan and Elder K. to be Jesus Christ. Wow it was so beautiful I don’t think I have ever received so much revelation in my entire life.
So I had the conversation explaining to Elder K. what he had to do in the near future and what was in store for him. I can only imagine what the conversation between Heavenly Father and Jesus was like in heaven before the Atonement. So we started the lesson. It was interesting because Elder R.(Satan) was chasing people down and clapping in their eyes, making them blink(Blinking was sinning). Then I would put a tally on the board, and erase a tally once Elder K. paid the price for the sin(1 blink) with 5 pushups. I was in tears from the very beginning to be honest. It was so interesting to see Elder R. He really got into the role of Satan, and he started developing new ways to try to tempt them and get them to blink by using books, throwing things at them but barely missing, etc and he would get frustrated every time his victim didn’t blink. Just like the real satan, who creates new ways to bring us down, and takes over the weak and makes them blink over and over and over again because he loves it. Every time I heard a clap I felt sorrow because I could see how sad one of my students was when they sinned, but I also felt understanding and love. I kept an extremely close eye on Elder K., and wept as he did pushups for everyone else. I can only imagine how God watched his son, and how he felt. It was incredible. Everyone was sobbing as they remembered what their savior did for them. They would run away from Satan and actually try to juke him out sometimes. Hermana R. was so inspiring too. Halfway through the lesson she got frustrated because she blinked like 5 times in a row, so she just got on her knees and started praying. It reminded me of the scripture “Pray always, that you may come off conqueror.” I was glad not every did that though otherwise it would’ve ruined the point of the lesson. Just one was good!! hahaha. And then, when we were low on time I looked over at Elder K. and said “Necesito diez mas” which means I need 10 more. His whole body shook and he was sweating and trembling and crying. On the last pushup he made it halfway up, and then collapsed. At that point everyone was sobbing uncontrollably and they all lifted him up and hugged him and thanked him for what he did. When they were done, I went over and gave him a personal hug, and the love I felt for him was incredible. Imagine how God felt when he hugged Jesus (this is how I imagined it went, and I actually got a spiritual confirmation about that) once Jesus rose on the 3rd day and went to visit his father. Wow. Then I pulled up a chair on my right side and gently placed Elder K. in it, and told everyone to thank God right now for the Atonement. Then I read the scripture “Wherefore, the Almighty God gave his Only Begotten Son, as it is written in those scriptures which have been given of him. He suffered temptations but gave no heed unto them. He was crucified, died, and rose again the third day; And ascended into heaven, to sit down on the right hand of the Father, to reign with almighty power according to the will of the Father; That as many as would believe and be baptized in his holy name, and endure in faith to the end, should be saved – “ Then I shared a little story and closed the lesson. Wow. We had sacrament right after and I saw everyone in my district was crying even more during the sacrament as well. It was the most meaningful sacrament I’ve ever had. It was a beautiful sunday. Wow!

Okay now for some housekeeping. I’m leaving for Veracruz at 2:30 in the morning on Monday the 18th. We are instructed to call home at the airport, and my flight leaves at 6:20. So that means I’ll be calling you guys around 5 my time, which would mean it will be at like 3 in the morning your time. I will call dad’s cell phone because mom has always had trouble answering her phone (love you mom, I can still tease you on a mission) and the home phone only rings twice. Hope you guys answer!! Think of some gems of advice for me or something 🙂

Also I thought I would mention I have found a interesting joy in sewing. All the guys have me sew their stuff, and in return they shine my shoes and iron my clothes. Its awesome. Its very soothing.

Okay and here’s my last mention about tie trading. Mom, remember that uncle Rico looking tie you got me? Thats an ugly tie, I’ll be honest. And I’ve tried to trade that so much over the last 5 weeks, but with no luck. But today at 3:30 I organized a tie draft, where everyone submits one tie, draws a number, and then picks out a different tie. Very similar to the Roberts white elephant exchange. I organized this FOR THE SOLE PURPOSE OF GETTING RID OF THAT TIE. Mom didn’t you mention that you sent me more ties? I really hope by “cool” you meant they were nice ties…hahaha if not I’ll find a way to trade them or something. hahaha I miss everyone so much but it doesn’t bother me or consume my mind at all during the other days of the week. Just while Im emailing.

Love,
Elder Roberts

District KickBall

DSC00229

Comment...

