Elder Roberts – December 1 & 8 , 2014

December 8, 2014

Hi All,

We are doing really well! I love this place so much. I just kind of realized that Elder Weaver and I are managing a very different Cabada than I had with Elder Rodriguez. We are teaching completely different people and in different parts of the town. It’s awesome. We had eight people in church this sunday!  Almost 10% of the overall attendance. It was awesome. Plus, we planned one baptism this week (E) right after church so everyone at church could see the baptism and feel the spirit. They did.

Man I have a lot to say this week where do I start. Well, primeramente (forgot how to say that in ingles you guys can translate it), I learned something about the relationship between faith and miracles. Here’s what I learned. So I always knew that God had the capacity to do miracles, and that required faith. But here’s how it actually works. God is a God of miracles. Miracles WILL happen if we

1. Have faith

2. Act

Elder Weaver and I were talking about this and I asked him, in his experience, if he’s ever seen a person baptized that wasn’t a miracle. He said no. The reason I asked is because all the baptisms I’ve seen so far are flat out miracles. And that’s just how it works! Speaking of miracles, at E’s baptism, her mom and her aunt came to watch.  They had never before attended church. The mom had heard us teach the Restoration once, but she didn’t understand or remember it, and the aunt has never talked with a missionary. It was actually a miracle they showed up, but then they told us after the baptism, that they wanted to be baptized too!! haha so we are going to do it. They have a few commandments to take care of beforehand, but all the Lord asks for is desire and action, and he does the rest. That was cool. It was a great, great day. We also watched the Christmas devotional from the First Presidency. Elder Weaver told the two families who were watching with us that he knew someone in the Mormon Tab Choir, so every time they sang the families were yelling and pointing at different ladies to find who it was….hahaha I LOVE MEXICO SO MUCH.

Today we ate a gigantic taco. Its called a memela. But this memela was actually featured in the newspaper for its size. Elder Weaver and I saw it one day and knew we had to eat it, but we wanted to justify such excessive spending. We found out that one of our investigators, a beautiful little family, actually struggles to eat on a daily basis, so we invited them to our memela party. Two of them were at school but the mom and the son came. It was delicious. And it was only like 8 bucks mas o menos.

Also, my dear family, it is that time of year. Christmas. And I remember how we always pick the biggest event that happened to our family and make it into an ornament. So I was thinking, since me being on a mission is obviously the biggest event, that you guys could somehow get someone to make a golden statue of me, and have that be the ornament. It would look fantastic near the top of the Christmas tree. Doesn’t need to be huge, just like 4 or 5 inches. j/k:)

I love you all,

I know this is the work of the Lord.

Elder Roberts

December 1, 2014

Well, I don’t know where to start. Its been a great week. Elder Weaver and I celebrated thanksgiving by buying memelas, which are basically gigantic tacos unique to our zone. They were fantastic. Also on Thanksgiving we had a baptism!! We baptized a young girl named K. She has a great testimony and was ready to take that step. All her family was telling her not to do it the night before, but we passed by and talked to her. All we did was reassure her of what she knew. It was a cool experience. And at the last second, her mom decided to come with us to the baptism!! It was a small miracle that’s for sure. It’s great to see her heart soften a little.  Then another miracle happened. So my companion met and baptized a joven of 18 years in one of his old areas. Miraculously, he ran into the dad of that kid (who previously said he would never step foot in “the church of the Mormons”) and he was getting baptized!! He was the last one of the family to get baptized and he wanted Elder Weaver to do it! The power of families is real…I teared up various times at the baptism because the Spirit was just so strong! They’re such a cute little family! I hardly know them but I love them a lot and I’m really excited for them as they prepare for the temple. The joven that got baptized first actually had me give him his contact information and insisted I take a picture with them. Haha what a great family!! Also, so were teaching this beautiful little family of 6. They’re so great. But we were talking to them and all of a sudden the mom, Juanita, interrupts our lesson and says “You know, I just feel completely different every since I started talking to you guys. I go and hang out with my friends who drink and I don’t even feel the slightest desire to join them. Im more patient with my children (she explained a few examples). My relationship with my husband is more loving. We read 3 Nephi 11 together last night while all the kids were in bed. Theres a special spirit in that book.” Then the whole family got excited and started expressing similar feelings. They started talking about how we teach so clearly, and I just started smiling because I thought to myself “Here we are, two gringos teaching 6 different people with a whole myriad of different problems about the gospel. We don’t know very much about the gospel itself, let alone how to speak spanish. Plus, we have some pretty thick accents still. Yet they’re talking about how clearly we teach and how its different. The Holy Ghost is real.” I know that the Spirit was testifying of the truthfulness of our words to their hearts. There’s simply no other way they could’ve understood us the way they did. Unfortunately, only Juanita and her son David (THIS KID IS AWESOME) came to church because the dad and his other son had to work, and the mother in law and her grandson didn’t come because…who knows. I know this is the work of the Lord. And I love it.

Love, Elder Roberts

I forgot to include that I have started reading the Book of Mormon in spanish!!! Its awesome. Actually, the Book of Mormon in spanish is actually way easier to understand. Sometimes it takes a little away from the meaning that some verses have in English to me, so that’s why Im going to study them together. But it’s a beautiful thing. One of my favorite scriptures is, one I read a few days ago, in 2 Nephi 33:6. It says ” I glory in plainness; I glory in truth; I glory in my Jesus, for he hath redeemed my soul from hell.”

In spanish the translation of plainness is “clarity” which I think is really beautiful. I love the scriptures! And studying the Book of Mormon in a different language opens up a whole new world of understanding and study.

we finished it esmerelda baptism

Comment...

