Elder Roberts – December 15, December 21, and December 29

December 15, 2014

Wow, okay, so this week we were going to have a zone conference on Friday, but people in our district led a strike and closed down the highway. We went to negotiate with them to let President Cordova through but they didn’t let him. We ended up having the conference three days later.

CAMBIOS(Transfers)!! I’m headed to a city called Tierra Blanca. Area Independencia 1. That is the area that Elder Rodriguez served in before being my companion, and the district of Elder Weaver before he was my companion. My new companion will be Elder Bowers. Another gringo. Because of the transfer, I’m going to miss 6 baptisms in Cabada, in the next two weeks. But that’s okay, because as long as they get baptized I’m happy. It doesn’t matter who does it.

Spiritual thought: I was thinking the other night about faith. It is common practice, in the world today, that if you want to get from point A to point C, you have to go through point B. For example, I am sitting in a chair. I want food. Me sitting in my chair is point A. The food I will acquire is point C. In order to acquire said food, I need to get out of my chair and go buy/grab food. Think about it. It’s like that for everything and people do it all the time. I’m at point A, I want to achieve something (C), therefore I do B. However, when dealing with faith based blessings, people often don’t want to follow this cycle……people struggle (A), they want blessings (C), but they aren’t even willing to try point B, which would consist of acting on your faith. We can’t just sit there in our chair of complacency and expect to receive help from God if we’re not willing to get out of our chair. So there you have it. Thought of the day. Are you sitting in your unfaithful chair of mediocracy? If you are, act in faith so you can be happier. If you don’t believe me, just try it.
Anyway, thats all folks.

Love you all.

Elder Roberts

December 21, 2014

WOW WOW WOW! I have never felt so much stress in my life. So I show up to my new area, that I am now in charge of, with respect to missionary work in The Lords Kingdom, and we have no investigators. So we are starting over. I worked harder this week than any other week of my mission. I also feel the pressure of our daily results, every night, when our District Leader calls. Our goal is to find two new people every day with baptismal dates. We reached our goal, this week, and found two people every day but only 5 accepted our challenge. And those who accepted, didn’t come to church, so now we don’t have anyone progressing. However, we were hauling around Sunday morning and found a cute little grandma and her grandson. Just walked up and contacted them. Told them they would get blessings and feel better if they came to church, which started in an hour and a half. AND THEY CAME!! THAT IS THE FAITH!

Our house here is SO NICE! It’s 4 times the size of the one I had before, and no rats can get in! I found a place to string up my hammock. I lay in it every night while I talk to the district leader. He gives me the heat every night but I like it. He pushes me really hard. Elder Bowers, my companion, is awesome. He’s TALLER than me!! He’s from Idaho. Grew up on a farm.
I am speaking much better Spanish. People understand me and I understand them. So if that means fluent, then great!
I’m doing good. Stressed? Better believe it. Overwhelmed? A bit. Ready to build the kingdom of God? Better believe it. Excited and animated? More than ever.
Love,
Elder Roberts
December 29, 2014

We have been struggling this whole week, just pushing ourselves harder and harder and harder. We decided to head out and work early today and use 2 of our p-day hours. We didn’t feel like we were doing a great job, and then we looked at the end of the week and had great results!! We have some people to work with finally, who are progressing in faith, which is good. God is truly working with us! Now, we are doing great!
It was amazing to talk to the family on Christmas.
I bought myself a basketball for christmas so I can enjoy exercising more.
We taught a super powerful lesson right after Christmas. God touched and changed the heart of the lady we were teaching.
I’m really enjoying my mission. It’s really, really hard, but I’m enjoying it. We had lots of investigators in church last Sunday! We are working with the Bishop and Ward Council to plan how to get all the families ready for the temple.

Here’s a scripture for you at Christmas time: 3 Nephi 14:11

Love, Elder Roberts

IMG_0413[1]

Comment...

