Elder Roberts – May 3 to May 11, 2015

May 4, 2015

Hi All,

Wow what a week. It was really fun! I used the fact that I’m new to get all the information I want out of people. I love being new. I just ask really direct questions. “Are you a member?” “No.” “Why not” “Well, Im not sure yet…” “What’s holding you back?” And then they tell me their problem right there. We teach a lesson about it, and boom. They are that much closer to the best decision of their lives. I love being direct.

This is a great little ward! Me and my companion work WONDERFULLY together. And have so much fun doing it. Wow. He’s an absolute awesome missionary and the Lord is going to pour out his blessings here through us. We have a ton of fun, work even harder, and keep each other obedient. He’s Elder Villanueva in case you forgot. He reported on July 9 too!!

Actually my companion showed me this quote from Holland. We have it on our wall and its going to be our theme for this transfer.

“Brethren the spirit of this work is urgency, and we must imbue our missionaries and members with the spirit of now. N-O-W. We are not just waiting for natural slow growth. We must move more rapidly. We must take things up a notch. If we have to call down miracles or angels, then call them down. The drama is unfolding and we must do whatever it takes to ratchet up the work.

I feel an incredible sense of urgency. I feel such a sense of urgency in my chest that I can hardly breathe. Every dispensation begins with a vision. We must have a vision. We are the church that dreams dreams. We are the church that has visions. We must believe in miracles… We must believe and build on what our forefathers have done. We are just going to putter along, be average until we wind up to the level when our heart is up in our throat and if we opened our eyes, we would expect to see angels.

If this is God’s work, and if He still lives, then the miracles and angels are still there. We must live up to our potential. God will bless us with whatever we need, God wants us to just see what he sees and know what he knows. He wants us to ratchet up the vision. God is easy to please and hard to satisfy. This is not convenient easy work.

We have got to take things to the edge. We have to move into the realm of the miraculous. We have to live in such a way that we cannot do it alone anymore, where we will resort to the Lord where we will cry, without thy help I will fall. Help me fly; Go to the edge where miracles happen. Move into the realm of the miraculous. Welcome to the apostolic work.” -Holland

WHAT AN INCREDIBLE QUOTE!!

Theres really not much more I can say about it, other than we are going to work with that attitude and expectation.

This morning I studied about “faith hope charity and love, with an eye single to the glory of God, qualify him for the work”

I have a lot of thoughts about all of that and how they all relate. One of my main questions was why it mentions both charity and love. From what I understand, we need to have charity towards the people, and love for God. Two very different things. Forgive me if I’m preaching something incorrect, but that’s what I understand it to be (simply stated).

The best thing I could think of this morning with regards to the relation between those things is this:

We work because of charity, and we do it by faith. Hope is what keeps us going, and love (towards god) gives us power. And last but not least, our eye single to the glory of God is our direction.

As far as Elder Villanueva and I area concerned (we talked a lot about this), everyone here in Loma Bonita is ready for the gospel. That’s the faith and hope we have to demonstrate. We are not God, and not contacting someone because we are lazy or because they look unready is called pride. Only God knows who is ready, and if we assume that everyone is ready, we will work miracles (we want a family to take to the temple SO BAD). We call this attitude “the eye of faith”. We will see how it treats us this transfer.

I love the people here in Loma. I’m learning the names a lot faster than the streets, I can tell you that. I’ve always been directionally challenged.

Anyway, on Mothers Day I will call around 330 pm or 4 MEXICO VERACRUZ TIME so be ready! Hope you aren’t in church or something because that will be the only time I can really call. Sundays are hectic.

Love you all a ton!  Elder Roberts

Elder Villanueva Pina and knife named lucy

May 11, 2015

Hi all.  There is this yearly fair here in Loma Bonita so Elder Villanueva and I are trying to hurry up and get to that, so we are cutting our writing time a bit. Apparently there are gigantic pineapples there.

We have had a rather good week. We are working hard and trying to work miracles. We challenge everyone to baptism and found a guy who accepted the challenge yesterday in the street, and we are going to see him today so that should be interesting.

Its really fun, because a member of the Seventy came and told us we should sometimes contact like that. “Hello, we are representatives of the Lord Jesus Christ. We have been called by a prophet of God, and we would like to invite you to be baptized for a remission of your sins. What do you say?”

That is such a powerful statement. Our mission president also gave a similar instruction and told us something really really cool. He said that when we ask questions, they should know the answer always. They chose to come here. They are familiar with the truth, but don’t quite know the truth yet. I thought that was just really really cool. Very wise men they are.

Anyway, I don’t have a lot to talk about. I found a switchblade pocket knife in the market today. It had an engraved jaguar head at the stem of the handle so I had to get it. Thats pretty sweet.

But, my companion and I were talking about a lot of gospel topics yesterday after we called our parents, and we ran into some really really interesting conclusions. I would like to share one of them with you.

We talked about routines. We talked about the danger of getting into a routine. It is a tool that satan uses to hinder our progress as mortals here in this earth. The Atonement is about progression, improvement. If Satan can stick us in a routine, he limits our application of the greatest gift we have ever received. Its so easy to say “Wow, I have 10 months on the mission. I know the lessons. I teach pretty good. I don’t need to plan because I’m good enough to analyze the situation and give a lesson on the spot. And my companion is good enough to join in on the same wavelength.” That is just so…BAD! “I read my scriptures every day. I go to church every week. And I pray every night.”

“Really? Thats awesome! And what have you learned new that you will apply to your life?”

We need to UNDERSTAND that we are in a state of probation. Its almost like a videogame. If we are at level 70 we are pretty darn strong, but that doesn’t mean we should stay there. We aren’t at level 100 yet. Or level 1000. We have to keep moving. THE ONLY ACCEPTABLE ROUTINE IS THE ROUTINE OF CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT. This reminds me of 2 Nephi 2. Reminds me of D&C 58 where it talks about being anxiously engaged. We gotta move folks!! We are ascending, or descending. And if you aren’t sure, I can almost guarantee you’re descending. If your a good teacher, do you teach as good as Jesus Christ? No? Okay, then keep improving. If you’re a child, do you reflect the obedience that Jesus showed to his Father? No? Okay work on that. WE ARE IMPERFECT. Lets get to work. We don’t need to be hard on ourself; there’s no part of the Atonement that says failure means condemnation AS LONG AS WE ARE TRYING. I love you all. Keep improving. Tell God you want to keep improving. Talk to him about it. Listen to the advice he gives. write it down. Then go do it. He’s there to help every step of the way to the celestial kingdom.

Love you all. And Jesus loves you how you are, not how you were. So keep getting better!

Elder Roberts

Comment...

