Elder Roberts – June 8 to 22, 2015

June 8, 2015
WOW, so we just barely got home from transfers. Sorry for not responding to anyones emails or anything. I’ll get on that next week. It’s a 5 hour bus ride to Veracruz and back and I had to pick up my new companion! Fresh from the MTC. MI HIJITO! His names Elder Capps and he’s also from California. Training is going to be really fun and I’m looking forward to the challenge. It truly is a 24 hour a day call. President Cordova told us a lot of really cool stuff about being trainers today. But man I’m exhausted. So was Elder Capps. He actually fell asleep on my shoulder on the way home hahaha. I’m so excited. He’s already pretty decent at spanish.
Anyway, I have no more time to write. Love you all! Heres a picture of him and me in the offices. Let the games begin.
My Greenie
To answer Dad’s question about what I eat:
Cereal in the morning, Usually accompanied by a banana.
We eat with members midday. A good healthy meal. Chicken, beans, rice, tortillas etc and lots of flavored water
Some cookie/cracker mexican snacks in the street
At night…hardly anything…sometimes cereal.
Elder Roberts
(If anyone wants to email me, my address is hugh.roberts@myldsmail.net)

June 15, 2015
WHAT A WEEK! You may all wonder how my first week is going as a trainer. I LOVE IT SO MUCH! Elder Capps is awesome. I love him so much already. I’m trying to be a good trainer. I’m striving for ABSOLUTELY 100% obedience. Which includes only speaking Spanish. We have slipped up a little (because English is way funnier than Spanish) but usually when we are in the street all I do is point at stuff and ask “Que es eso?” so that he learns vocab.
I’m glad for this experience because I’m learning as much as he is. There’s this training program called 12 Weeks for new missionaries, and we were looking through it this week, and low and behold, I found some stuff I sure wasn’t doing!!! OOPS! And Elder Capps looks at me and is like “Shouldn’t we be doing this?” in the most humble way. I was like “Yes, we most definitely should be. Let’s start today.” They are just little things, but are so important! Like praying on your knees with the investigators. That helps them build good life long habits in the gospel. It’s so easy not to, and sometimes you can’t (because we teach in the street) but it’s something we should strive for.
I felt us filled with power this week. My testimony of exact obedience grows daily. It’s so cool. My companion has so much faith in the people!! There were these two people who aren’t members, ones a sister of a less active and the other is a sister of an investigator. I never even tried teaching them because they looked lazy to me, but that morning we had practiced extending baptismal invitations, so my son just went for it! On both of them! And they both accepted! Also, one of them is already in 1 Nephi 8 and we’ve only taught her twice. Lots of learning for me to do.
I just simply love seeing the spirit work on people. Nothing ground breaking happened this week. Just little things. Like when we start a lesson with Tomas, and he’s all feisty about prophets and stuff. We explained a couple scriptures so it he understood and made sense, and then more our testimonies, and he then accepted Joseph Smith without any issues. I love it! Or one investigator found us in the street the other day and asked us how the spirit worked, and I shared with him a personal experience. And he was like “EXACTLY! I just like this church. I don’t know why. I feel like it demands a lot, but I want to do it.”  He had just left his girlfriend (she couldn’t accept some lifestyle changes), overcame a coffee addiction, and he’s just so cool! The spirit is just really quietly, really consistently working on him. Alma 32 is the best chapter in the BOM to understand the spirit of conversion. I invite you all to read it and find where in the conversion process you are, and what steps are next.
Sorry, no pictures this week. But wow! Truly great week. Last night I asked my companion how his first week was and what he’d learned. He was like “Well, I’m learning a ton and its really hard. And your example is really unique but helpful….you’re so….bold.”
That was one of the greatest compliment I could have received from him. We are having a hoot of a time. And a baptism this Friday! 🙂
Elder Roberts

June 22, 2015
So our bautismo fell….along with 7 investigators. The one who is still progressing is going to have an operation and won’t be able to descend into the waters of baptism for a month while he recovers. Its been a tough week. My companion is handling it well for a 2-weeker, I think it’s gotten to me more than he is because I wanted him to have that experience. But its not about us, so I forgot about that idea pretty fast. We just gotta get to work now.  I believe we will find some chosen ones soon, and Im SO EXCITED. I look forward to loving and teaching an investigator with all my heart, who actually wants to repent.
Anyway, so its been a tough week. Someone reminded me about Fathers day. so I wrote a poem about everything thats going through my mind. It was rather refreshing. This poem I wrote specifically for Dad on fathers day, since we don’t get to call him haha.  I’ll send it directly to dad.  But anyway, yeah, HAPPY FATHERS DAY!!  I’m grateful for all you’ve done for me dad.
Theres a reason God worries so much about families.
Love you all!
Elder Roberts

One thought on “Elder Roberts – June 8 to 22, 2015

  1. Hey buddy, Haven’t spoke to you in a while. I read you blogs every chance I get. I miss you buddy its good to see you’re doing well serving your god. hope you make it back safe and hope to catch up with you Fairly soon. Keep preaching the word of your people Hugh Daddy such a great thing you are doing. Best wishes to you bud take care.
    Your Friend,Don Canteen

    Date: Tue, 23 Jun 2015 04:31:20 +0000
    To: djcanteen_32@hotmail.com

    Like

Comment...

