Elder Roberts – August 31 to September 7, 2015

August 31, 2015
Okay so theres a lot to say and not much time!
We had a really sweet ending to my time in Loma Bonita. Yeah I just got transferred. Anyway, when I got to Loma there wasn’t much action and no recent baptisms. It took us a while to get things going. But this last month we had 6 baptisms in between 2 companionships!!  And 3 of them were this last saturday. It was great and I felt like maybe we actually made a difference there in Loma Bonita. I’m going to miss it, but I’m also very happy for a change. Tough area. Learned a lot.
I have returned back to the TUXTLAS! Where I started my mission. I’m in a different area but now I’m even deeper in the jungle. I’m pumped. We have a district of 6 people. 2 of them are sisters.
Anyway, its a lot cooler here. Very hilly and there’s a lot of sweet stuff to do on PDay (FINALLY). But what I’m really excited about is that we are in the only district of the mission. I’m in a branch. The goal is obvious. Make it a stake. So I’m really pumped we have a large set of goals to really establish the kingdom of God here. My goal is to get my branch with enough priesthood and callings so it will be ready to be a ward. I’m with Elder Pantuso. It’s his 5th transfer here so he knows everyone and everything. That’s good! I had a ton of pictures to send, but I honestly just forgot my camera in the house. But I’m stoked to be here!! It’s always great to be in a new area. I have to go conduct a district meeting in 30 minutes with people I don’t know, about a district I don’t know. It should be fun. Also I woke up at 330 this morning to make it all the way to Veracruz from where I was. I was so far away. It makes me feel good that they send me to the farthest areas. They’re just so cool!
Elder Roberts

September 7, 2015
WOW. IVE HAD SUCH AN AMAZING WEEK!!
I LOVE MY NEW AREA SOOOO MUCH!!
Okay I’m gonna be completely honest, my last area was tough. I struggled so much there. So I show up to my new area. the first thing we do is go grocery shopping. I had to get my frosted flakes. Then, this member named Hno Armando found us and told us he had a reference for us. umm…what? A member referral!!! It’s awesome.  And we had a ton of success this week! That reference we contacted that next morning. My first lesson in San Andres. FAMILY OF 3. WITH PRIESTHOOD. ABLE TO BE SEALED. MARRIED BY THE LAW!!! WHAT ON EARTH….it’s amazing. AND THEY WENT TO CHURCH THIS WEEK. My brain is going to explode it’s hard to register that something like that happened. It was so incredible. And they’re cool!!! I asked them in the first lesson “how do you feel to know that there is a living prophet on earth today?” (my way of verifying how much they understood) and the husband looked at me and said “There are living prophets? REALLY? Thats incredible. I feel so good. So blessed. That shows me the Lord loves me and wants me to return. Am I allowed to know his name? Where is he? How do I hear him?” I pulled out a little picture of Thomas S Monson and showed it to him, and he was like “…a prophet of God..incredible”. The restoration is really cool 🙂
I felt the spirit so much this week. We also contacted a lady who heard about the temple and wanted to get married there. I don’t know what I did to deserve to be in this area but I’m like a giddy child when I study for these people.
The recent converts here are SO COOL too. They give us food every single night. And really, really good food too.  Once I forgot about fast sunday and they offered me water and I was like “sure I’d love some water!” and then this family of 7 all yelled “NO ITS FAST SUNDAY!! What are you thinking!?!?!” and then all laughed at me. I love these people.
This week one of the recent converts took us to see a waterfall. Well, actually 3 of them. It was cool. We also got chased by a bee colony and all sped down the mountain for dear life. It was hilariously fun. And my comp heard a pheasant and started to hunt for it (he’s from Wyoming and loves hunting) and I was behind him. I started launching rocks really high in the air when he wasn’t looking, and they would drop and he thought it was the pheasant. And I would act just as surprised as he would. Hilarious.
Love you all,
Elder Roberts

P-day 2

Comment...

